Australian Church Women - QLD
  • To unite Christian women in their allegiance to God the Father, Jesus Christ His Son, and the Holy Spirit.

  • To promote co-operation, understanding and reconciliation between men and women in Church, family and society.

  • To help Christian women to take a more effective place in the total life and mission of the Church.

  • To provide opportunities and encouragement for Christian women of different denominations to worship, study and serve together.

  • To encourage fellowship, service and understanding nationally and internationally.


The First Council was formed on 10 March 1947 with representatives from Church of England, Churches of Christ, Presbyterian, Methodist, Baptist, Congregational and The Salvation Army meeting together in the City Congregational Church, with Mrs A. Deans appointed the chairman. It was her vision to form this council.

It was RESOLVED 'That a committee be established having four representatives from each denomination, and the name of the movement to be – The Women's Inter-church Council of Queensland.' On the 26 May 1947, representatives from each denomination approved the inauguration, and the council was established. Meetings were held on the third Friday of August, November, February and May.

During the first decade (1947-1957) information was gathered and disseminated on Social Welfare in the Metropolitan Area, Migrant Welfare, Aboriginal Welfare, Marriage Guidance, Road Safety, the Ecumenical Movement, UNICEF, and Religious instruction in schools.

1958-1963 During this period Bible Study was a prominent feature. The formation of Branches in other centres was considered. The Rev. Winifred Kiek visited and spoke on an International Alliance of Women held in China. The Council shared in welcoming Lady May Abel Smith (Governor's wife) and Princess Alexandra, and participated in the Queensland Centenary Celebrations.

In 1962 a federating body for State Women's Councils was being considered and in November 1963, at the Annual General Meeting, the decision was made to become the State Unit of Australian Church Women, but retaining the name 'Women's Inter-church Council' for the present.

1964-1972 At all levels challenge and opportunity was at hand. 'Warana Thanksgiving', James Cook Bi-Centenary, First ACW Special Day, representation on State committees of ACW and QCC. Formation of branches at Southport, Rockhampton and Mackay.

Invitation to Catholic Daughters was accepted.

Queensland was represented at the first meeting of the National Committee of ACW, held in Sydney in Feb 1965, and has been represented at each succeeding meeting.

The Winifred Kiek Scholarship was implemented.

Fellowship of the Least Coin is supported.

Mrs R. Dingle attended the Asian Church Women's Conference as the first observer from Queensland.

IN 1969 Queensland volunteered to undertake the responsibility of the National Committee for two years. Mrs J. Dennis was elected President.


QLD Unit Secretary
Nancy McLaren


QLD Branch Contacts:
Bundaberg: CLOSED

Mrs Rosslyn McKendry 
PO Box 3282
Red Hill
Rockhampton QLD 4702

Mrs Bev Currie 
126 Craig Road
Koumala Qld 4738

  • Rockhampton

  • Mackay